Day 2.

Why martinstrees? To know me at all is to know that I live, breathe and speak trees. While much of my work on a daily basis is cutting trees down- -whether in the forest to help with forest health and meet our needs for lumber & paper, or in town near houses, power lines and poodles. But I see trees as much more than how I earn money to feed my family or lumber that will become someone’s kitchen cabinets. I am in awe of them: their beauty, their strength, why they grow where they grow, their shape or architecture. I like to share that with other people, tooi phone 6 2013 119

Scotch pine in Indiana. Sculpted by the weather. Silhouetted against the setting sun.

3 thoughts on “Day 2.

  1. sparkyjen

    Wow! I live in the state of Indiana, so this post caught my attention. I also live out in the country. Every house in my neighborhood has trees on the property. I often stand in the bay window and look at our trees. Frankly, I couldn’t imagine losing one. They so belong here, and are beautiful all year round. Sadly, a few do fall askew, and must be cut into pieces. They aren’t wasted though. They used to warm and admire!

    Reply
    1. martinmelville Post author

      Thanks for taking the time to comment, Jen.
      Often people call me up & say “I want to get rid of this ugly old tree. Isn’t it ugly?” I’ve come to believe that there may be trees which are (for our purposes) in the wrong place, often what we call ugly would be character if we were talking about a person. I have an essay called “On Willow Trees.” I’ll see if I can find it & post it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

